Birds Online
     
  Home > General facts about budgies > Budgie sounds from Australia for happy birds
     
 

Budgies are very sociable birds in their natural surroundings in Australia. They live together in huge flocks and lead a nomadic life. Each day, they fly several kilometers to find food and water. The outback is a hard place to live - and a dangerous one, too. As long as there is no danger ahead, roosting budgies do what you know from our pet birds: they chirp and sing happily. So, listening to other budgies chirping and tweeting is essentially important for a budgie's wellbeing. This is because the voices of other budgies give the bird comfort and the feeling to be in a safe place. Budgies know instinctively: As long as other birds sing, there is no predator around and there is no need to worry.

Natural habitat of wild budgiesIf you want to make your birds feel happy and give them an idea about how a large flock sounds, you should listen to "Happy budgies" - of course together with your birds. It's a recording by Andrew Skeoch right from Australia where the wild budgies live. Together with the talented photographer Sarah Koschak, he went to Macdonnel Ranges, central Australia, to record the voices of wild budgies and other birds sharing this habitat. Sarah took some lovely pictures which show us where the ancestors of our pet birds come from.

Album 'Happy Budgies'On the website Listening Earth, you can learn more about the recording which has a brilliant quality. My birds really enjoy it and start singing immediately whenever they hear it. It's easy to see how much they appreciate hearing the songs of other birds, and it's also amazing that wild budgies and captive ones sound slightly different. You can buy an mp3-download of the album "Happy Budgies External link" on-line and pay per credit card or via PayPal. It costs 15 AU$ which is a very fair price, I think. There are also some other fantastic recordings you can listen to on the web-site. Please note: In case you'd like to order a CD and not just an MP3-download, make sure you've made the right choice in the form of thisweb shop.


Wild budgies in Australia

 
 
All photos and the text on this page are protected by the copyright law. In case you'd like to use photos or texts for your own non-commercial purpose, please contact the author.

Birds Online
     
  Home > Allgemeine Informationen > Wellensittichgesänge aus Australien zum Bestellen
     
 

Wellensittiche sind sehr sozial lebende Tiere, die mindestens einen Artgenossen um sich herum benötigen, um wirklich glücklich zu sein. Besonders eindrucksvoll ist das in ihrer natürlichen Heimat Australien zu sehen. Dort leben wilde Wellensittiche in sehr großen Schwärmen zusammen und führen ein nomadisches Leben. Gemeinsam durchstreifen die Vögel das weite und karge Land. Auf der Suche nach Futter und Wasser legen sie täglich etliche Kilometer zurück. Im sogenannten Outback ist das Leben nicht leicht - und es ist gefährlich. Solange keine Gefahr besteht, zwitschern rastende Wellensittiche unablässig. Dieser Gesang der Artgenossen signalisiert jedem einzelnen Vogel, dass die Welt in Ordnung ist und dass kein Angreifer in der Nähe ist. Deshalb fühlen sich Wellensittiche besonders wohl, wenn sie den Gesang ihrer Artgenossen hören.

Falls Sie Ihren im Haus gehaltenen Vögeln den Luxus gönnen möchten, einen großen Schwarm wilder Wellensittiche zwitschern zu hören und sich dadurch noch wohler zu fühlen, könnte das Album "Happy budgies" das Richtige für Sie sein. Es handelt sich dabei um Mitschnitte von Gesängen wilder Wellensittiche, die Andrew Skeoch in Australien aufgezeichnet hat. Gemeinsam mit der sehr talentierten Naturfotografin Sarah Koschak hat er die Macdonnel Ranges im Zentrum des Fünften Kontinents bereist, um die Stimmen der dort lebenden Wellensittiche aufzunehmen. Sarah hat die Gegend fotografiert und auch einige wilde Verwandte unserer Stubenwellensittiche abgelichtet, siehe Fotos in diesem Kapitel.

Album 'Happy Budgies'Auf der Internet-Seite Listening Earth erfahren Sie mehr über das Album. Beim Probehören ist mir gleich die hohe Qualität der Mitschnitte aufgefallen. Meine Vögel waren von den Gesängen ihrer Artgenossen begeistert und stimmten sofort mit ein in das Gezwitscher. Was mich am meisten überrascht hat, ist die Tatsache, dass die wilden Wellensittiche ein wenig anders zwitschern als meine eigenen Vögel. Es ist fast so, als würden sie einen anderen "Dialekt" pfeifen. Das Album "Happy Budgies Externer Link" kann auf der oben genannten Web-Seite bestellt werden, es kostet als Download 15 Australische Dollar (also rund zehn Euro, Stand: August 2013). Die Bezahlung ist per Kreditkarte und über PayPal möglich. Achtung, wer eine CD kaufen möchte und keinen MP3-Download, der muss zunächst im Bestellfeld "CD" einstellen, dort ist "MP3" voreingestellt.

 
 
Sämtliche Inhalte und Abbildungen auf dieser Seite sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Bilder-, Video-, Tondatei- und Textdiebstahl werden rechtlich verfolgt.