Birds Online
     
  Home > Funny stuff > More about Nellie: her characteristics
     
  Nellie doing her solo Date of birth: 30.07.1995

Place of birth: Bochum, Deutschland

Species: Sulphur-crested Red-shoed Cockatoo (Cacatua galerita ruficalcei)

Size: 65 cm (without crest and heels)

Wing length: 42 cm

Favorite food: Millet sprays, apples, carrots, soaked weat

Favorite beverages: Carrot juice, banana juice and cooled Rooitea with honey

Hobbies: Breeding millet, reading, environmental work and protection of endangered species, dancing (Standard and Latin, see photo on the right), traveling

Special characteristics: In contrast to most other individuals of her species, Nellie talks outstandignly good in the human language and she understands it in a perfect way. She participated in intelligence studies where scientists found out that she is even more intelligent than the wellknown Grey Parrot Alex. Nellie holds a privileged position among the Sulphur-crested Red-shoed Cockatoos since she is amazingly clever. At a renowned correspondence university, she attained a degree in comparative behavior research in January 2002.

Original area of the species: East and southeast Australia, up to the southeastern part of south Australia, Tasmania, New Guinea, East-Timor

Habitat: As a Kulturvolger in human settlements. Prefer gradened surfaces for moving on the ground for avoiding problems with their shoes.

Status: Extremely rare, nearly extinct in nature, since the species achieve high prices on the black market. Nonserious parrot lovers offer up to 100.000 US-$ for a bird who is illegaly captured from the wild.

Way of life: This sociable, peaceloving parrot species lives in couples or in small flocks of up to 30 individuals. In their natural surrounding, Sulphur-crested Red-shoed Cockatoos have been frequently observed while they tried to communicate with other bird species; they tried to learn the language of the foreign species.

Natural diet: Fruits, seeds, nuts, buds, berries, occasionally insects. In human settlements the birds specialized in sacking unguarded tables at some places in gardens. Sulphur-crested Red-shoed Cockatoos maily loot vegetables and baking goods; in some cases cheese or dairy products and occasionally something chocolate. Furthermore, some individuals show a preference for sweet beverages like fruit juices.

 
 
All photos and the text on this page are protected by the copyright law. In case you'd like to use photos or texts for your own non-commercial purpose, please contact the author.

Birds Online
     
  Home > Humor rund um Wellensittiche > Mehr über Maskottchen Nellie: ihr Steckbrief
     
  Nellie beim Damensolo Geburtsdatum: 30.07.1995

Geburtsort: Bochum, Deutschland

Art: Gelbhauben-Rotschuh-Kakadu (Cacatua galerita ruficalcei)

Länge: 65 cm (ohne aufgestellte Federhaube und Absätze)

Flügellänge: 42 cm

Lieblingsfutter: Kolbenhirse, Äpfel, Möhren, gequollene Weizenkörner

Lieblingsgetränke: Möhrensaft, Bananensaft und abgekühlter, mit Honig gesüßter Rotbuschtee

Hobbys: Hirse züchten, Lesen, Umwelt- und Artenschutz, Tanzen (Standard und Latein, siehe Foto rechts), Reisen

Besondere Merkmale: Anders als die meisten Individuen ihrer Art kann Nellie hervorragend die menschliche Sprache sprechen und verstehen. Bei Intelligenzstudien schnitt sie stets erheblich besser ab als der unter Wissenschaftlern und Verhaltensforschern berühmte Graupapagei Alex Externer Link. Unter Gelbhauben-Rotschuh-Kakadus nimmt Nellie eine Sonderstellung ein, da sie für ihre Art überdurchschnittlich klug ist. An einer renommierten Fernuniversität erlangte sie im Januar 2002 einen Abschluss in vergleichender Verhaltensforschung.

Ursprüngliches Verbreitungsgebiet der Spezies: Ost- und Südost-Australien, bis hin zum südöstlichen Teil Süd-Australiens, Tasmanien, Neuguinea, Ost-Timor

Lebensraum: Als Kulturfolger in menschlichen Siedlungen. Bevorzugt eingeebnete Flächen zur Fortbewegung am Boden, da es sonst Probleme mit den Schuhen gibt.

Status: Extrem selten, in freier Natur kaum noch anzutreffen, da die Art auf dem Schwarzmarkt hohe Preise erzielt. Zweifelhafte Papageienliebhaber bieten bis zu 100.000 US-Dollar für einen Wildfang.

Lebensweise: Diese gesellige, friedliebende Papageienart lebt paarweise oder in kleinen Gruppen von bis zu 30 Individuen zusammen. In ihrer natürlichen Umgebung wurden Gelbhauben-Rotschuh-Kakadus häufig dabei beobachtet, wie sie versuchten, mit anderen Vogelarten zu kommunizieren, wobei sie probierten, die Sprache der fremden Spezies zu erlernen.

Natürliche Ernährung: Früchte, Samen, Nüsse, Knospen, Beeren, gelegentlich Insekten. In menschlichen Siedlungen haben sich die Vögel mancherorts darauf spezialisiert, unbewachte gedeckte Tische in Gärten zu plündern. Dabei erbeuten Gelbhauben-Rotschuh-Kakadus vornehmlich Gemüse und Backwaren, seltener Käse oder Milchprodukte und gelegentlich etwas Schokolade. Bei manchen Individuen wurde ferner eine Vorliebe für kohlensäufefreie süße Getränke wie Fruchtsäfte beobachtet.

 
 
Sämtliche Inhalte und Abbildungen auf dieser Seite sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Bilder-, Video-, Tondatei- und Textdiebstahl werden rechtlich verfolgt.