Birds Online
     
  Home > My budgies > Deceased budgies > Icarus
     
  Icarus, adopted on 11/23/00, † 08/30/01

Icarus in the profile In November 2000, I got Icarus from the animal shelter of my town. This budgie hen who was born in the beginning of 1997 and her partner have been brought to the animal shelter many weeks before, because their previous owner had no more room for the birds in his flat, he told the staff. Icarus regrettably was completely unable to fly due to a deformation of her spine. But Icarus always was very courageous and got along well in my bird room despite of her handicap. She spent most of her time with the two males Jupiter and Kiki who are disabled like she was.

And again Icarus At first, Icarus always perched close to her former companion Puck at their favourite resting place in a corner of the bird room that I furnished in a special way for my flightless birds (see photo below). Puck, who was able to fly, quickly joined the healthy members of the flock and left his old friend Icarus behind. Fortunately, Kiki and Jupiter were there and they loved to spend their time with the handsome lady Icarus. In addition, my other budgies often came to visit the handicapped birds down near the floor of the bird room where they were all happily singing budgie-operas together. Well, at least it sounded like operas in my ears...

On 08/30/01, Icarus unfortunately left the flock without warning. She suddenly died without having any pain and without showing any previous illness.

Kiki visits Icarus

Meaning of the name
Since Icarus was incapable of flight, I decided to name her after a minor planet which is designated after a legendary person of an ancient tale. The original Icarus came too close to the sun while riding above the sky and therefore fell to the ground. The minor planet Icarus was discovered in 1949 and he orbits the sun together with an innumerable amount of other planetoids just between the planets Mars and Jupiter. My little budgie was called Charly in the home of her former keeper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
All photos and the text on this page are protected by the copyright law. In case you'd like to use photos or texts for your own non-commercial purpose, please contact the author.

Birds Online
     
  Home > Meine Vögel > Meine Wellensittiche > Verstorbene Vögel > Icarus
     
  Icarus, adoptiert am 23. November '00, † 30. August '01

Icarus im Profil Am 23. November 2000 holte ich Icarus aus dem Essener Tierheim Externer Link. Dort war die Anfang 1997 geborene Sittichdame gemeinsam mit ihrem Partner einige Wochen zuvor gelandet, weil ihr Vorbesitzer keinen Platz mehr für die Vögel hatte. Eine sehr seltsame Begründung, wie ich finde. Denn Wellensittiche sind nun wahrhaftig nicht sonderlich groß und das Ganze mutete eher wie eine faule Ausrede an ... Icarus war aufgrund einer Wirbelsäulendeformation bedauerlicherweise vollkommen flugunfähig, aber die Vogel-Dame war stets sehr tapfer und fand sich dennoch gut in meinem Vogelzimmer zurecht. Sie verbrachte ihre Zeit am liebsten mit den ebenfalls flugunfähigen Männchen Jupiter und Kiki.

Und noch einmal Icarus Anfangs saß Icarus immer zusammen mit ihrem früheren Lebensgefährten Puck an ihrem Stammplatz in einer Ecke des Freiflugzimmers (siehe Foto unten). Schnell schloss sich Puck jedoch den flugfähigen Artgenossen im Sittichschwarm an und ließ seine alte Freundin regelrecht sitzen. Zum Glück waren Kiki und Jupiter für Icarus da und leisteten ihr ständig Gesellschaft. Aber auch die anderen Sittiche kamen oft zu den behinderten Vögeln und schmetterten zusammen mit ihnen Wellensittich-Opern, zumindest hörte es sich für mich ganz danach an.

Am 30. August 2001 verstummte Icarus leider für immer. Sie starb - wie ich hoffe ohne Schmerzen - sehr plötzlich ohne vorherige Krankheit. Ich war traurig darüber, dass ich ihr nicht helfen konnte, denn gern hätte ich versucht, ihr Leben zu retten. Es ist schade, dass sie so früh gehen musste.

Kiki besucht Icarus

Bedeutung des Namens
Da der Sittich flugunfähig war, lag es nahe, ihn nach einem Kleinplaneten zu benennen, der seinerseits wiederum nach jener Sagengestalt benannt ist, die der Sonne zu nah kam und deshalb abstürzte. Der Kleinplanet Icarus wurde im Jahre 1949 entdeckt und er umkreist unsere Sonne zusammen mit unzähligen weiteren Planetoiden im Bereich zwischen den Planeten Mars und Jupiter. Beim Vorbesitzer hieß Icarus übrigens Charly.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Sämtliche Inhalte und Abbildungen auf dieser Seite sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Bilder-, Video-, Tondatei- und Textdiebstahl werden rechtlich verfolgt.